Welcome to Travel France Online

Welcome to Travel France Online

Metropolitan France

Travel France Online is a free online travel resource that helps you discover or rediscover French fabulous historical, architectural and cultural heritage.

But first of all, did you know that Metropolitan France has a population of about 64 millions?

It is also surrounded by six countries:

Spain to the South, Italy, Switzerland and Germany to the East and Luxembourg and Belgium to the North.

It is bordered by three seas:

The English Channel to the North-West, the great Atlantic Ocean to the West and the Mediterranean Sea to the South.

Finally, the territorial reform that took effect on January 1, 2016 reduced the number of administrative Régions in Metropolitan France from 22 to 13.

Some regions such as Brittany, Paris - Ile de France, Pays de la Loire, Corsica and Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur remained as they were.

The other regions merged and adopted a new name.

Alsace, Lorraine and Champagne-Ardenne merged and took the name Grand Est.

Auvergne and Rhône-Alpes merged into Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes.

Bourgogne and Franche-Comté merged into Bourgogne-Franche-Comté.

Haute Normandie and Basse Normandie merged into Normandie.

Limousin, Aquitaine and Poitou-Charentes became Nouvelle Aquitaine.

The Centre changed its name to Centre-Val de la Loire.

Midi-Pyrénés and Languedoc-Roussillon merged and took the name Occitanie.

Nord-Pas-de-Calais-Picardie changed its name to Hauts de France.

Each region has its own identity as France has a long history of invasions.

Various ethnic groups have superimposed their cultures and beliefs and this exceptional blend has given rise to a rich historical, cultural and architectural heritage.

Finally, France's unique geographical location translates in a wide array of landscapes and climate and turns it into one of the most sought after tourist destinations.

So, from the team at Travel France Online: Welcome to La Belle France!

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter

Please note: We will not sell or distribute your email address to any third party.