Paris - Ile De France
Paris 16th District - 16eme Arrondissement
Paris 16th District
Paris 16th District is located on the Rive Droite and is commonly known as Quartier de Passy.
This affluent district is also considered the residential district of the capital.
Paris 16th District includes:
Quartier de la Porte Dauphine, Quartier de Chaillot, Quartier de la Muette and Quartier d’Auteuil.
It boasts the highest concentration of embassies and museums, two major horse races and four international stadiums including Roland-Garros and the Parc des Princes.
The industry and crafts are not present.
Paris 16th District is indeed essentially dedicated to luxury boutiques, galleries and hotels!
This 'new district' was formed in 1860 when the villages of Auteuil, Passy and Chaillot merged.
The Bois de Boulogne is all that is left of the Forêt de Rouvray that once covered the west of Paris.
The first settlements date from the 6th century.
By the 15th century, the village has grown and split in two news communities, Autolium-Auteuil and Calcium-Chaillot on the top of the hill.
Chaillot and its vineyard became a suburb of Paris in 1659 and a Parisian district in 1787.
The Quartier d'Auteuil corresponds to the village of Altoil.
This village developed on the western side of the Colline de Chaillot between the river and the Bois de Boulogne.
Ste-Genevieve Abbey bought Altogilum during the 11th century in order to build a church.
The nuns also replaced deforested the area and planted the vineyards that contributed to the wealth of their order until the French Revolution.
Auteuil became trendy during the 17th century when wealthy Parisians built their mansions in this peaceful and green village.
It remained a very residential despite the construction of the railway line in the early 1850’s and the Hippodrome d’Auteuil in 1873.
Passy is part of the Quartier de la Muette.
The village of Pacey evolved from the Gallo-Roman estate of Paccius that was founded some 2000 years ago.
The Château de Passy was built in 15th century and rebuilt a century later by one of the General Farmers.
Passy became a parish in 1672.
It has always been renown for its parks and luxurious mansions, but also for its spring whose waters cured women’s infertility.
The spring dried up at the end of the 19th century.
The former Château de la Muette was located next to the Bois de Boulogne.
In the 17th century, the architect Philibert de l’Orme transformed the hunting lodge into an elegant castle.
The estate changed hands a few times through the years.
It became national property at the French Revolution and was divided in two plots.
The old château was demolished and the pavilions, staff quarters and part of the park were transformed into entertainment centre.
The construction of the Auteuil railway line damaged a large part of the remaining park and in 1920 the remaining buildings were pulled down.
Porte Dauphine was a gate on the perimeter wall of the Château de la Muette.
It was named after Queen Marie-Antoinette, the wife of the 'Dauphin' and future Louis XVI.
Sadly, none of the patrician mansions and religious buildings erected in these villages survived the French Revolution!
Haussmann had therefore free hand to develop and shape Paris 16th District.
He designed a vast network of elegant avenues, squares, parks, hotels and urban hamlets or cités in order to extend Paris towards the west.
This extensive urbanization lasted until the 1930s.
Metro stations serving Paris 16th District
Line 1: Charles de Gaulle-Etoile, Argentine, Porte Maillot
Line 2: Charles de Gaulle-Etoile, Victor Hugo, Porte Dauphine
Line 6: Charles de Gaulle-Etoile, Kléber, Boissière, Trocadéro, Passy
Line 9: Alma-Marceau, Iéna, Trocadéro, Rue de la Pompe, La Muette, Ranelagh, Jasmin, Michel-Ange-Auteuil, Michel-Ange-Molitor, Exelmans, Porte de Saint-Cloud
Paris – Ile De France - Latest content
Subscribe to our weekly newsletter
Please note: We will not sell or distribute your email address to any third party.